trips planned by users

Zou Department trip planner

Create a fully customized day by day
itinerary for free
Itinerary planner
+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +
You have 1 trip in progress.   See all
Trip Planner Africa  /  Benin  /  Zou Department

Zou Department

Specialty Museums
Zou is one of the twelve departments of Benin. The department obtains its name from the Zou River which travels through the department before emptying into the Atlantic in the south of the country. The majority of the population are the Fon people with 91% population, while Aja people make up 4% and Yoruba make up 3% of the populace. The departement of Zou was split in 1999 with the northern territory moved to the newly created Collines Department. The capital of Zou is Abomey. Zou is subdivided into nine communes, each centered at one of the principal towns, namely, Abomey, Agbangnizoun, Bohicon, Cové, Djidja, Ouinhi, Za-Kpota, Zangnanado and Zogbodomey.Per 2013 census, the total population of the department was 851,580 with 407,030 males and 444,550 females. The proportion of women was 52.20 per cent. The total rural population was 67.00 percent, while the urban population was 33.00 per cent. The total labor force in the department was 275,249 out of which 50.10 per cent were women. The proportion of households with no level of education was 60.70 and the proportion of households with children attending school was 72.90.
In the build up to your vacation in Zou Department, plan trip itinerary minutiae using the visitor reviews, staff write-ups, and custom search fields on our Benin day trip planner.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Zou Department

  • Get a personalized trip
    A full day by day itinerary based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Zou Department